Quick takeaway: Not all marine collagen supplements are formulated the same way. The most important things to look for are what species the collagen is actually sourced from, whether the collagen itself is a clinically studied, branded peptide or a generic "hydrolyzed marine collagen" listing, and what you're paying per day at the dose the label recommends. A bigger gram number on the front of the label doesn't automatically mean a better-studied product — it just means more collagen, of unknown or unspecified research pedigree.
Here's how the five most-searched marine collagen products actually compare
You already know marine collagen is prized for its small peptide size and fast absorption compared to bovine collagen, and you've probably narrowed your shortlist down to the handful of brands that show up everywhere — on Amazon, on TikTok, in your group chat. Now you want to know which one is actually worth your money.
The honest answer is that it depends on what you're optimizing for. Sports Research and Vital Proteins are the two most-searched marine collagen brands in the category by a wide margin, and both deliver a large per-scoop dose of single-ingredient collagen. California Gold Nutrition is iHerb's top-rated collagen listing, built around a lower price point with hyaluronic acid and vitamin C folded in. NeoCell is the only major brand in this comparison offering marine collagen in capsule form rather than powder. Pure Powder Nutrition sits in a different position: a single, clinically studied branded peptide — VERISOL-F — dosed at exactly the amount used in the published research, at Amazon-direct pricing.
What actually separates these products comes down to four things: what fish species the collagen is sourced from, whether the collagen is a generic ingredient or a named, clinically studied peptide, what else is in the formula, and what that costs you per day. We compared all five on those terms.
Marine collagen comparison at a glance
Prices sourced from brand websites and authorised retailers. Always verify the current listing before purchasing.
|
PPN |
Sports Research |
Vital Proteins |
California Gold Nutrition |
NeoCell |
|
|
Format |
Powder |
Powder |
Powder |
Powder |
Capsule |
|
Collagen ingredient |
100% VERISOL-F branded peptide |
Generic hydrolyzed marine collagen |
Generic hydrolyzed marine collagen |
Generic hydrolyzed marine collagen |
Generic hydrolyzed marine collagen |
|
Fish source |
Barramundi (VERISOL-F, GELITA) |
Wild-caught cod, haddock & pollock* |
Wild-caught cod / whitefish* |
Blend — may include cod, haddock, salmon, tilapia, catfish, pangasius |
Tilapia, carp & catfish (freshwater) |
|
Collagen per serving |
2,500 mg (2.5 g) |
10,000 mg (10 g) |
12,000 mg (12 g) |
5,000 mg (5 g) |
2,000 mg (2 g) |
|
Serving size |
1 rounded tsp |
1 scoop |
2 scoops |
1 scoop |
4 capsules |
|
Added actives |
None — single ingredient |
None — single ingredient |
None — single ingredient |
Hyaluronic acid + Vitamin C |
Hyaluronic acid + Vitamin C, B6, B12, zinc |
|
Clinical dosing match |
Yes — matches published RCT dose |
Not disclosed |
Not disclosed |
Not disclosed |
Not disclosed |
|
Vegan / pescatarian |
Pescatarian-friendly |
Pescatarian-friendly |
Pescatarian-friendly |
Pescatarian-friendly |
Pescatarian-friendly (gelatin capsule) |
|
Halal certified |
Yes |
Not disclosed |
Yes (UK/MENA listings only)† |
Unconfirmed — conflicting claims‡ |
Not disclosed |
|
Price |
$34.90 / 100 servings |
$34.95 / 34 servings |
$59.00 / 34 servings |
$38.98 / ~93 servings |
$19.54 / 120 caps (30-day supply) |
|
Cost per day |
~$0.35 |
~$1.03 |
~$1.74 |
~$0.42 |
~$0.65 |
|
Third-party tested |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Not disclosed |
|
GMP-certified |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
*Sourcing species vary by batch/SKU per brand disclosures. †Vital Proteins Marine Collagen is labeled halal certified on UK/MENA retailer listings; the US product page and US Amazon listing don't display a halal certification. ‡Some retailers list California Gold Nutrition CollagenUP as halal certified; at least one halal-verification service flags the same SKU as not certified. Status unconfirmed — verify directly with the brand before relying on this for dietary compliance.
About the five marine collagen brands
Pure Powder Nutrition Marine Collagen with VERISOL-F®
$34.90 — available on Amazon
Pure Powder Nutrition's marine collagen is built around VERISOL-F, a specific bioactive collagen peptide developed by GELITA and studied in multiple double-blind, placebo-controlled trials — not a generic "hydrolyzed marine collagen" listing. It's sourced from barramundi, a single, clearly disclosed species. Each serving delivers 2,500 mg, which is the exact dose used in the published research on skin elasticity, collagen density, hair thickness, and nail growth. The other-ingredients list is limited to the peptide itself — no hyaluronic acid, no vitamin blend, no fillers. At 100 servings per container, it's also the longest-lasting option in this comparison by a wide margin.
What it does well: Branded, clinically studied peptide at the exact research dose, sourced from a single clearly disclosed species (barramundi) rather than a rotating blend, single-ingredient formulation, halal certified, lowest cost per day in this comparison, 100 servings per container.
Worth knowing: Because the formula is single-ingredient, anyone specifically wanting built-in hyaluronic acid or vitamin C will need to pair it with a separate supplement.
Sports Research Marine Collagen Peptides
$34.95 for 34 servings (12 oz)
Sports Research is one of the most-searched marine collagen brands, and for good reason — it's a straightforward, single-ingredient powder with a large 10 g dose per scoop, sourced from wild-caught fish (cod, haddock, and pollock, or barramundi and red snapper depending on the batch). It delivers roughly 9 g of protein per serving at 35 calories, and is IGEN Non-GMO tested, gluten-free, dairy-free, and Keto certified.
What it does well: Large per-scoop collagen dose, single-ingredient formula, widely available, third-party tested.
Worth knowing: The collagen source isn't a named, clinically studied peptide — it's generically listed as "hydrolyzed marine collagen peptides," so there's no specific published dosing research tied to this exact ingredient. Fish source varies by batch.
Vital Proteins Marine Collagen
$59.00 for 34 servings (14.5 oz) — smaller 7.8 oz size runs $39.00 for 18 servings
Vital Proteins is the single most brand-recognized name in collagen, and their marine collagen delivers the largest per-serving dose in this comparison at 12 g (2 scoops), sourced from the scales of wild-caught white fish, typically cod or snapper depending on batch. It's Non-GMO Project Verified, gluten-free, dairy-free, and paleo-friendly, with no added sugar or flavoring.
What it does well: Highest collagen-per-serving dose, strong brand trust and availability, clean single-ingredient formula.
Worth knowing: Highest cost per day in this comparison by a meaningful margin, and — like Sports Research — the collagen is a generic listing rather than a named, clinically studied peptide.
California Gold Nutrition CollagenUP®
$38.98 for ~93 servings (1.02 lb) — smaller 7.26 oz size runs $17.46 for ~41 servings
California Gold Nutrition's CollagenUP is iHerb's best-selling marine collagen listing, combining a 5 g dose of hydrolyzed marine collagen peptides with hyaluronic acid and vitamin C in one scoop. The fish sourcing is a blend that can include deep-sea species like cod, haddock, and salmon alongside others such as tilapia, catfish, and pangasius, which vary by production batch. It's unflavored, non-GMO, and free of the nine major allergens aside from fish.
What it does well: Added hyaluronic acid and vitamin C in the same formula, low cost per day, large container sizes for long-term value.
Worth knowing: The fish-species blend isn't fixed — it can include freshwater species like tilapia and pangasius alongside deep-sea fish, so sourcing varies by batch. Like the other generic listings here, there's no named, clinically studied peptide behind the collagen dose.
NeoCell Marine Collagen Peptides + Hyaluronic Acid
$19.54 for 120 capsules (30-day supply at 4 capsules/day)
NeoCell is the only capsule-based option in this comparison, which matters for anyone who doesn't want to mix a powder into a drink every day. Each 4-capsule serving delivers 2,000 mg of collagen plus 20 mg of hyaluronic acid and a vitamin and mineral blend including vitamin C, B6, B12, zinc, and copper. The collagen is sourced from tilapia, carp, and catfish — all freshwater species.
What it does well: Only capsule format in this comparison, lowest sticker price, added hyaluronic acid and vitamin/mineral blend, no mixing required.
Worth knowing: The fish species used (tilapia, carp, catfish) are freshwater, not ocean/deep-sea species — worth knowing if sourcing ocean fish specifically matters to you. Requires taking 4 capsules daily, and third-party testing isn't disclosed on the label.
Cost per day at labeled serving size
Prices are from brand websites and authorized retailers.
|
Product |
Price |
Serving |
Approx. daily cost |
|
PPN Marine Collagen with VERISOL-F® (100 servings) |
$34.90 |
1 tsp (2.5 g) |
~$0.35 |
|
California Gold Nutrition CollagenUP (1.02 lb) |
$38.98 |
1 scoop (5 g) |
~$0.42 |
|
NeoCell Marine Collagen + HA (120 caps) |
$19.54 |
4 capsules (2 g) |
~$0.65 |
|
Sports Research Marine Collagen (34 servings) |
$34.95 |
1 scoop (10 g) |
~$1.03 |
|
Vital Proteins Marine Collagen (34 servings) |
$59.00 |
2 scoops (12 g) |
~$1.74 |
How to choose the best marine collagen
If you want a collagen peptide that's actually been studied at the dose you're taking — not just "more collagen" on the label — Pure Powder Nutrition delivers VERISOL-F at the exact 2.5 g dose used in the published research, at the lowest cost per day here.
If a bigger per-scoop collagen number matters most to you and you don't mind paying more per day for it, Vital Proteins delivers the largest single dose at 12 g per serving.
If you want a large single-ingredient dose without the premium price tag, Sports Research offers 10 g per scoop at a mid-range cost per day.
If you'd like hyaluronic acid and vitamin C built into the same scoop at a low price point, California Gold Nutrition's CollagenUP is worth considering — just note the fish-species blend can vary by batch.
If capsules suit your routine better than mixing a powder, NeoCell is the only option in this comparison in capsule form — though the "marine" collagen here comes from freshwater fish, and you'll need to take four capsules a day.
If halal certification is a firm requirement, Pure Powder Nutrition is the only product here with a clearly and consistently disclosed halal certification — Vital Proteins carries it on UK/MENA listings only, and California Gold Nutrition's status is disputed across retailers, so both are worth confirming directly with the brand before relying on them.
FAQs
What should I look for in a marine collagen supplement?
Look for a clearly disclosed fish source, a collagen dose that matches or exceeds what's been used in published research, and — ideally — a named, branded peptide with its own clinical studies rather than a generic "hydrolyzed marine collagen" listing. Third-party testing and GMP-certified manufacturing are also worth checking.
Is marine collagen better than bovine collagen?
Marine collagen peptides are generally smaller in molecular weight than bovine collagen peptides, which some research associates with faster absorption. Both are predominantly Type I collagen, which is the type most associated with skin structure. Neither has been shown to be definitively "better" across all use cases — bovine collagen tends to have a broader mix of collagen types relevant to joint and bone tissue, while marine collagen is more commonly studied for skin, hair, and nail outcomes. The right choice depends on which outcome you're targeting.
What is VERISOL-F and how is it different from generic marine collagen?
VERISOL-F is a specific bioactive collagen peptide developed by GELITA and tested in multiple double-blind, placebo-controlled human trials on skin elasticity, wrinkle depth, collagen density, hair thickness, and nail growth, typically at a 2.5 g daily dose. Most marine collagen powders on the market list collagen as a generic ingredient without a named peptide or dedicated research behind that specific formulation.
Is Sports Research marine collagen good?
Yes — it's a clean, single-ingredient formula with a substantial 10 g dose per scoop, sourced from wild-caught fish and third-party tested. The main consideration is that the collagen itself isn't a named, clinically studied peptide, and the fish source can vary by batch.
Is Vital Proteins marine collagen good?
Yes — it delivers the highest per-serving collagen dose in this comparison from a widely trusted, Non-GMO Project Verified brand. The main considerations are the highest cost per day here, and — like Sports Research — a generic rather than branded, clinically studied collagen ingredient.
Does marine collagen taste or smell fishy?
Most unflavored marine collagen powders, including all four powder products in this comparison, are formulated to be flavorless and odorless when mixed into coffee, smoothies, or water, though a small number of users report a faint fishy note in colder or thinner liquids.
Which marine collagen supplement lasts the longest per container?
Pure Powder Nutrition's 100-serving container is the longest-lasting in this comparison, followed by California Gold Nutrition's 1.02 lb size at roughly 93 servings.
Is marine collagen halal?
It depends on the brand and certification, not the category as a whole — fish-derived collagen is generally considered halal-compliant by source, but formal certification varies and isn't always consistent across markets. Pure Powder Nutrition's Marine Collagen with VERISOL-F® is halal certified. Vital Proteins' marine collagen carries halal certification on UK/MENA listings but not on its US packaging. California Gold Nutrition's CollagenUP has conflicting halal claims across retailers and should be verified directly with the brand. Sports Research and NeoCell don't disclose halal certification for these specific products.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.